Skip to main content

Monitor: Public Appointments

Volume 477: debated on Monday 16 June 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Health who the members of the board of Monitor are; and what the professional expertise of each is. (209593)

The board members of Monitor (the statutory name of which is the Independent Regulator of NHS foundation trusts) are listed as follows along with their professional biographies:

Dr. William Moyes (Executive Chairman)

Dr. Moyes was previously Director-General of the British Retail Consortium from 2000-03 and Head of the Infrastructure Investments Department at the Bank of Scotland. He joined the British Linen Bank (a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Bank of Scotland) in 1994. Before that, he held a variety of posts in the Scottish Office, including Director of Strategy and Performance Management in the Management Executive of the national health service in Scotland. He joined the civil service in 1974 in the then Department of the Environment and was a member of the Economic Secretariat in the Cabinet Office between 1980 and 1983;

Mr. Christopher Mellor (Deputy Chairman)

Mr. Mellor is also Non-Executive Chairman of Water Services in Northern Ireland and is Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Grontmij UK Ltd., the consulting engineers’ firm. He retired as Chief Executive of Anglian Water Group plc in March 2003, after 13 years with the company. Previously he was a Non-Executive Director of Addenbrooke’s NHS Trust between 1994 and 1998, where he was Chair of the Audit Committee. Chris Mellor was also a member of the Government’s Advisory Committee on Business in the Environment;

Mr. Stephen Thornton (Non-Executive Director)

Stephen Thornton is Chief Executive of The Health Foundation, which is an independent healthcare charitable foundation working to improve the quality of healthcare in the UK. He has held various senior executive NHS management and board positions over the last 15 years. He was Chief Executive of Cambridge and Huntingdon Health Authority from 1993 to 1997, and Chief Executive of the NHS Confederation from 1997 to 2001. He was a Commissioner on the Board of the Healthcare Commission from February 2004 until July 2006;

Baroness Elaine Murphy (Non-Executive Director)

Baroness Elaine Murphy is a clinician by background and was Professor of Old Age Psychiatry at Guys and St. Thomas’s Hospitals 1983 to 1996. At the time she also held an NHS general management position. Over the last 12 years she has held a wide range of executive/non-executive board positions covering a wide range of areas including the voluntary sector and the Mental Health Act Commission. She was Chair of the North East London Strategic Health Authority until 30 June 2006. She is also Chair of St. George’s Medical School and sits in the House of Lords as a crossbencher; and

Ms Jude Goffe (Non-Executive Director)

A venture capital and corporate advisor, Ms Goffe is also a trustee of the King’s Fund. She has previously served as a Non-Executive Director of the Independent Television Commission and a Non-Executive Director of Moorfields Eye Hospital Trust from 1994-2004. Ms Goffe also chaired the trust’s Audit and Commercial Services Committees and was a member of its Remuneration Committee. Between 1984 and 1991 she was employed by the 3i Group plc in a number of investment roles, culminating in the position of Investment Director. Ms Goffe is a chartered accountant by profession.