Skip to main content

Joint Country Strategy for South Africa

Volume 478: debated on Thursday 26 June 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for International Development what resources his Department plans to commit to the joint country strategy for South Africa; and whether the EU or the South African government will administer this initiative. (213235)

The joint European Union Strategy Paper (EU-CSP) was signed in 2007 between the European Union, 10 member states (including the UK), and the South African Government. The Strategy was jointly drafted and agreed with the South African National Treasury.

The EU-CSP supports the priorities of the Government of South Africa (GoSA). Donors have agreed to split responsibilities for different sectors. The UK leads on the employment promotion theme and has established a working group designed to encourage co-operation between donors and Government Departments.

The EU is responsible for administering the strategy, working closely with the South African International Donor Co-ordination (IDC) Department of the National Treasury, which manages international donor relationships.

The UK will provide £20 million annually in bilateral funding to South Africa, between 2008 to 2011. This funding will be spent in line with the EU-CSP Business Plan.