Skip to main content

Sexual Assault Referral Centres

Volume 479: debated on Monday 1 September 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department how many sexual assault referral centres there are in each criminal justice area. (220908)

[holding answer 22 July 2008]: There are currently 19 Sexual Assault Referral Centres (SARCs) in England and Wales. In addition, there is one SARC that is solely dedicated to children. A table showing the breakdown of SARCs by police force area is as follows.

SARCs by police area


Police area

Helen Britton House, Cleveland

Cleveland Police

Millfield House, Derbyshire

Derbyshire Constabulary

Meadowfield Suite, Durham

Durham Constabulary

Elm Tree House, Dyfed Powys

Dyfed Powys Police

St. Mary’s SARC, Greater Manchester

Greater Manchester Police

Laburnum House, Gwent

Gwent Police

The Treetops Centre, Portsmouth

Hampshire Constabulary

The Renton Clinic, Dartford

Kent Constabulary

The SAFE Centre, Preston

Lancashire Constabulary

Juniper Lodge, Leicester

Leicestershire Constabulary

Haven Paddington, London

Metropolitan Police Service

Haven Camberwell, London

Metropolitan Police Service

Haven Whitechapel, London

Metropolitan Police Service

REACH Rhona Cross Centre, Newcastle

Northumbria Police

REACH Ellis Fraser Centre, Sunderland

Northumbria Police

The Topaz Centre, Nottinghamshire

Nottinghamshire Police

Willow House, Merthyr Tydfil

South Wales Police

Sheffield Children’s SARC, Sheffield

South Yorkshire Police

Rowan Centre, Walsall

West Midlands Police

New Swindon Sanctuary, Swindon

Wiltshire Constabulary