Skip to main content

NHS: Reorganisation

Volume 480: debated on Friday 17 October 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Health which NHS hospital trusts are bidding for foundation trust status; and what criteria must be satisfied before they can achieve such status. (225974)

The decision to authorise a national health service foundation trust rests entirely with Monitor (the statutory name for which is the Independent Regulator of NHS Foundation Trusts). Applicants must demonstrate to Monitor that they are:

financially and clinically viable;

legally constituted and locally representative; and

well governed.

An applicant trust must receive the Secretary of State's support in order to apply to Monitor for authorisation. Five NHS hospital trusts made a formal application for Secretary of State's support on 1 October 2008. These are:

The Hillingdon NHS Trust;

Calderstones NHS Trust;

East Kent Hospitals NHS Trust;

South Tees NHS Trust; and

West Suffolk NHS Trust.

There are currently 21 NHS hospital trusts undergoing or awaiting assessment by Monitor (including deferrals). These are:

Burton Hospitals NHS Trust;

Central Manchester and Manchester Children's University Hospital NHS Trust;

Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust;

Devon Partnership NHS Trust;

Ealing Hospital NHS Trust;

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust;

Hampshire Partnership NHS Trust;

Kettering General Hospital NHS Trust;

Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital NHS Trust;

North Cheshire Hospitals Hospital NHS Trust;

Northampton General Hospital NHS Trust;

Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Trust;

Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust;

Royal Brampton and Harefield NHS Trust;

Royal Free Hampstead NHS Trust;

Sandwell Mental Health NHS and Social Care Trust;

South West Yorkshire Mental Health NHS Trust;

Swindon and Marlborough NHS Trust;

The Walton Centre for Neurology and Neurosurgery NHS Trust;

Whittington NHS Trust; and

Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Trust.