Skip to main content

Departmental Executive Agencies

Volume 480: debated on Friday 17 October 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government how many agencies were sponsored by her Department or its predecessors in (a) 2007-08 and (b) 1997-98. (228509)

The Department’s three Executive Agencies that it sponsors are the Fire Service College, the Planning Inspectorate and the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre.

In 1997-98, the majority of the Department for Communities and Local Government’s functions were the responsibility of the Department for Environment, Transport and the Regions (DETR). At that time DETR sponsored eight executive agencies, most of which are now the responsibility of the Department for Transport.