Skip to main content

Coastal Town Network

Volume 485: debated on Tuesday 9 December 2008

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government with reference to the answer of 25 November 2008, Official Report, columns 1276-77W, on regeneration: coastal areas, which central Government Departments were involved in the Coastal Town Network (CTN); how many times the CTN met; at what level each department was represented; and which local authorities were represented. (241508)

Officials from six Departments (BERR, CLG, DCMS, DEFRA, DIUS and DWP) have been involved in the work of the Coastal Towns Network (CTN) so far. The CTN has met twice to date: in July and October 2008, with the next meeting planned for January 2009. Central Government Departments are represented at deputy director (Grade 5) and senior management (Grades 6 or 7) levels.

The city of Brighton and Hove and Kent county council attended the first meeting of the Network in Brighton. East Lindsey district council, Boston district council and Lincolnshire county council attended the Network's second meeting in Skegness.

Local authorities are also represented at the meetings through bodies like the British Resorts and Destinations Association, the Coastal Communities Alliance and the BURA—British Urban Regeneration Association—Seaside Network.