Skip to main content

Members: Offices

Volume 486: debated on Wednesday 21 January 2009

To ask the hon. Member for North Devon, representing the House of Commons Commission how many (a) hon. Members and (b) staff of hon. Members have an office in (i) 1 Parliament Street, (ii) Norman Shaw North, (iii) Norman Shaw South, (iv) the Palace of Westminster, (v) 7 Millbank and (vi) Portcullis House. Full information on accommodation allocations on the House of Commons estate was given in the Third Report of the Select Committee on Administration Session 2005-06 HC1279 in June 2006. Updated information is as follows:

Hon. Members:

Parliament Street: 59 Members

Norman Shaw North: 103 Members

Norman Shaw South: 45 Members

Palace of Westminster: 238 Members

Portcullis House: 208 Members

Staff of hon. Members are not allocated rooms. Some have desks in rooms allocated to their employing Member, some have desks in suited rooms adjoining those of their employing Member and some have desks in shared accommodation occupied by the staff of more than one Member. The number of Members' staff fluctuates constantly and it is therefore difficult to give an exact figure for the number accommodated on the parliamentary estate. The figures for the number of desks occupied by Members' staff stated in the Administration Committee's report are as follows:

1 Parliament Street: 125

Norman Shaw North: 267

Norman Shaw South: 145

Palace of Westminster: 288

Portcullis House: 405

Hon. Members and their staff are not accommodated in 7 Millbank. (248140)