Skip to main content

Bypasses: Finance

Volume 487: debated on Monday 9 February 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport for which bypasses his Department funded the construction in each of the last 10 years; and if he will make a statement. (252061)

The following table lists bypass schemes which have been completed in each of the last 10 years by either the Highways Agency or the relevant local highway authorities.



Dudley Southern Bypass, West Midlands

Coalfields Link Road Phase 1, Barnsley

Leeds Inner Ring Road, Stage 6, Leeds

A30/A35 Puddleton Bypass (DBFO)

A564 Derby Southern Bypass Contract B


A617 Rainworth Bypass, Nottinghamshire


A174 Skelton and Brotton Bypass

Burntwood Bypass Phase 1 and 2, Staffordshire

A151 Weston Bypass , Lincolnshire

C541 Addlethorpe Bypass and Bends Improvement, Lincolnshire


A143 Broome-Ellingham, Essex

A131 Great Leighs, Essex

A6023 Denaby Main Diversion, Doncaster

A511 Ashby Bypass Stage 2, Leicestershire

A27 Polegate Bypass, East Sussex

A43 Silverstone Bypass (A43 M40 to B4031 Dualling), Northamptonshire

A43 Whitfield Turn to Brackley Hatch Improvement (A43 M40 to B4031 Dualling), Northamptonshire

A6 Clapham Bypass, Bedfordshire

A66 Stainburn and Great Clifton Bypass, Cumbria

Wyre Piddle Bypass, Worcestershire

A428 Crick Bypass, Northamptonshire (Developer Funded)


A350 Semington-Melksham Diversion, Wilsthire

Barnsley Coalfields Link Road (aka Shafton Bypass)

A6 Great Glen Bypass, Leicestershire

A53 Hodnett Bypass, Shropshire

A5 Nesscliffe Bypass, Shropshire

A500 Basford, Hough and Shavington Bypass, Cheshire

A6 Rothwell-Desborough Bypass, Northamptonshire

A6 Rushden and Higham Ferrers Bypass, Northamptonshire

A6 Alvaston Bypass, Derbyshire

A650 Bingley Relief Road, Yorkshire

A4146 Stoke Hammond and Linslade Bypass (Northern Section), Buckinghamshire

A41 Aston Clinton Bypass, Buckinghamshire

A527 Biddulph Inner Bypass, Staffordshire

Ashton-under-Lyne Northern Bypass Stage 1, Tameside


St. Clements Way, Thurrock (aka West Thurrock Marshes Relief Road)

A607 Rearsby Bypass, Leicestershire

Mansfield Ashfield Regeneration Route, Nottinghamshire

A63 Selby Bypass, North Yorkshire

A10 Wadesmill to Colliers End Bypass, Hertfordshire


A167 Chilton Bypass, Durham

A21 Lamberhurst Bypass, Kent

A47 Thorney Bypass, Norfolk

A142 Fordham Bypass, Cambridgeshire

Gloucester South West Bypass (Castlemeads section)

A5 Weeford-Fazeley Improvement, Staffordshire

A158 Coastal Access Improvement Phase 1—Partney Bypass, Lincolnshire

A428 West Haddon Bypass, Northamptonshire (Developer Funded)

A57 Cadishead Way (Brinell Drive to City Boundary), Salford

Burntwood Bypass Phase 3, Staffordshire


A505 Baldock Bypass, Hertfordshire

South Lowestoft Relief Road, Suffolk

A421 Great Barford Bypass, Bedfordshire


Barford Bypass, Warwickshire

A58 Blackbrook Diversion, St. Helens, Merseyside

A197 Pegswood Bypass, Northumberland

A1198 Papworth Everard Bypass, Cambridgeshire

A612 Gedling Integrated Transport Scheme, Nottinghamshire

A429 Barford Bypass, Warwickshire

Barnstaple Western Bypass, Devon

A38 Northfield Regeneration Relief Road, Birmingham

Rugeley Eastern Bypass Stage 2, Staffordshire

A4146 Stoke Hammond and Linslade Western Bypass, Buckinghamshire

Cradley Heath Town Centre Relief Road, Sandwell

Sheffield Northern Inner Relief Road, Sheffield

A158/C541 Coastal Access Improvement Scheme, Phase 2—Burgh Le Marsh Bypass, Lincolnshire

A165 Reighton Bypass, North Yorkshire

Ridgmont Bypass and Woburn Link Road, Bedfordshire

A66 Temple Sowerby Bypass and Improvements at Winderwath, Cumbria


Tunstall Northern Bypass, Stoke

A590 High and Low Newton Bypass, Cumbria

A38 Dobwalls Bypass

This updates the table provided in my answer of 22 October 2008, Official Report, columns 415-17W.