Skip to main content

Speed Limits

Volume 487: debated on Monday 9 February 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Transport how many roads in (a) Leicester East constituency and (b) England have a speed limit of 20 mph. (253858)

This information is not held by the Department. Local traffic authorities are responsible for setting local speed limits and have had powers to introduce 20 mph speed limits and 20 mph zones without seeking the approval of the Secretary of State since 1999. There is no requirement for local authorities to inform the Department when a speed limit is changed.