Skip to main content

Regional Development Agencies: Public Appointments

Volume 487: debated on Monday 9 February 2009

To ask the Minister of State, Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform with reference to the Written Ministerial Statement of 25 November 2008, Official Report, columns 43-4WS, on Regional Development Agency (Board appointments), what political activity has been declared by each of the listed Board members. (253488)

The declared political activity of each of the 23 appointed board members named in the written statement of 25 November are:

Advantage West Midlands

Cllr Mike Whitby—was leader of the Conservative group on the Birmingham city council and since 2004 has been leader of Birmingham city council.

East of England Development Agency

Nitin Dahad—none.

Shona Johnstone—during the past five years has been a Conservative county councillor and was leader of Cambridgeshire county council in 2007.

Cllr Madeline Russell—Conservative councillor for Biggleswade and since 2005 became leader of Bedfordshire county council.

East Midlands Development Agency

Elizabeth Donnelly—member of the Co-operative party.

Jim Harker—Conservative member of Northamptonshire county council and has been its leader since 2005.

Northwest Regional Development Agency

Anne Selby—none.

John Stageman—none.

Brenda Smith—none.

Lord Peter Smith—member of the Labour party and has been leader of Wigan council since 1991.

South East of England Development Agency

Zenna Atkinson—none.

Jeremy Birch—Labour councillor and has been a member of the party for 30 years.

Les Dawson—none.

Keith Mitchell—Conservative councillor and leader of Oxfordshire county council since November 2001.

South West England Development Agency

Ian Ducat—member of the Labour party.

Peter Madden—none.

Judith Reynolds—none.

Henry Studholme—none.

Steve Smith—none.

Yorkshire Forward

Bill Adams—member of the Labour party.

Ajaz Ahmed—none.

Julie Kenny—none.

John Vincent—none.