Skip to main content

Local Government: Coastal Areas

Volume 487: debated on Monday 9 February 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government which seaside towns were included in the first wave of multi-area agreements; and which seaside towns she expects to enter into agreements as part of future waves of the multi-area agreement scheme. (253611)

Ten MAAs have been signed. The local authorities with seaside towns included in these are Bournemouth and North Tyneside, which includes Whitley Bay, and Sefton council, which contains the seaside town of Southport.

Other agreements in development include the West of England MAA, which involves Weston-super-Mare, and Fylde Coast MAA, which involves Blackpool.

A copy of the 10 multi-area agreements will be deposited in the Library.