Skip to main content

Youth Inclusion Programme

Volume 488: debated on Tuesday 24 February 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Children, Schools and Families pursuant to the answer of 16 December 2008, Official Report, column 717W, on crime prevention: young people, on which 110 estates the Youth Inclusion programme operates; and on what criteria those estates were selected. (256435)

The specific names of the estates in which Youth Inclusion programmes (YIPs) run are not formally collected centrally by the Youth Justice Board. However, the information about each area that is available, which in many cases does include the names of relevant estate, is included in annex A.

The criteria upon which estates are selected are high scores for both deprivation and crime.

The number listed is over 110. This is due to local flexibilities which allow for youth offending teams to set up additional YIPs from their prevention budgets where they deem appropriate.


Youth Inclusion programmesFebruary 2009

Barking and Dagenham (Abbey)

Barking and Dagenham (Gascoigne)

Barking and Dagenham (Goresbrook)

Barrow in Furness (Hindpool)

Bedford (Cauldwell)

Bedfordshire (Dunstable)

Birmingham (Shard End)

Birmingham (Sparkbrook)

Birmingham (Washwood Heath)

Birmingham (Kingstanding)

Birmingham (Lozells)

Blackburn (Mill Hill)

Blackburn (Whitebirk)

Bolton (Farnworth) New Bury Estate

Bournemouth and Poole (Boscombe East and West)

Bradford (Newlands)

Bracknell—Junior YIP

Brent (Church End and St. Raphaels)

Brighton and Hove (East—Moulsecoomb, Whitehawk)

Bristol (Barton Hill)

Bristol (Henbury)

Burnley (Trinity)

Calderdale (North Halifax)

Camden (Juniper Crescent, Clarence Way, Denton))

Cardiff (Ely and Llanrumney)

Ceredigion (Aberystwwyth West and Penparcau wards)

Coventry (Wood End) Bell Green

Conwy and Denbigshire—Rhyl

Derby (Osmaston)

Derby (Osmaston)

Derby (Mackworth)

Derby (Alvaston)

Derby (Derwent)

Derby (Derwent)

Devon (Gorwell and Frankmarsh)

Devon (Forches and Whiddon Valley)

Devon (Teignmouth)

Devon (Exwick)

Doncaster (North Area)


Easington (Whole Area)

East Riding (Goole)

Gateshead (Felling)

Greenwich (Eltham) Page

Hackney (North Hackney) Woodberry Down, Stamford Hill, Guiness Trust

Hackney (South YIP) Fellows Court, Holly St., Frampton Court, Blackstone

Hammersmith and Fulham (White City)

Haringey (Somerford Grove, Suffolk, Edgecott, Tiverton, Noel Park, Campsbourne)



Houghton Regis and Dunstable (Parkside)

Hull (Preston Road)

Islington (Finsbury and Tollington wards)

Kensington and Chelsea (Delgarno)

Kirklees (Dewsbury Moor)

Knowsley—North Huyton (Page Moss Estate)

Lambeth (Moorlands, Loughborough, Angel Town)

Lancashire (Preston) See Preston

Leeds South (Middleton)

Leeds West (Bramley)

Leicester City (three Junior YIPs)

Liverpool (Kensington)

Liverpool (Anfield/Everton) Walton Estate

Luton (Farley and Dallow)

Manchester (East)

Manchester (North—Crime Concern)

Manchester (North)

Manchester (Wythenshawe)

Merthyr Tydfil (North) Gurnos Estate

Middlesbrough (East)

Neath Port Talbot (Sandfield)

Newcastle upon Tyne (Elswick, Wingrove)

Newham (Forest Gate, Canning Town)

North Lincolnshire (Riddings)

North Lincolnshire (Westcliffe)


Nottingham (Meadows)

Nottingham (Radford)



Oldham (Greenacres)

Peterborough (Gladstone/Central Ward/Millfield)

Plymouth (St. Budeau and Barne Barton)

Portsmouth (Portsea)

Preston Brookfield

Preston Ribbleton

Redcar and Cleveland

Rochdale—Kirkholt Estate, Middleton Spring Vale Estate, Heywood

Rotherham (Herringthorpe)

Salford (Weaste)



Scunthorpe (North Lines)


Sefton—Bootle (Hornby Drive Estate)

Sheffield (Shire Green)



Somerset (Shepton Mallet and Coleford)

South Tyneside (Whitelees, Biddick Hall)

Southampton (S014)

South Gloucestershire (Bradley Stoke)

Southwark (Rockingham, Heygate, Peckham, Bermondsey, Aylesbury and Walworth)

St Helens—Parr Estate


Stockton-on-Tees—Ragworth, Wrensfield, Newtown

Stoke-on-Trent (Stanfields and Meir)

Sunderland (North Washington)

Swansea (Penderry, Mynydd Bach) Clase Estates


Tameside Ashton-Under-Lyne

Torbay (Paignton) not ward based

Torbay (Brixham) not ward based

Torbay (Torquay) Pendennis, Ellercombe and Watcombe

Tower Hamlets—St. Dunstans, Stepney Green, Whitechapel, Weavers, Bethnal Green

Tower Hamlets—Mile End, Globe Town, Spitalfields, Banglatown

Tower Hamlets—St. Katharines, Wapping, Shadwell, Bow and Bromley-by-Bow


Walsall (WS3.WS10) Blakenall

Waltham Forest

Wandsworth (Roehampton) Tooting, Battersea, Roehampton

Wear Valley

Wiltshire (Adcroft and Drynham)

Wirral—Woodchurch, Lesowe, Wallasey, North Birkenhead, Central Birkenhead, Rockferry

Wolverhampton (Low Hill/Bushbury)

Wrexham—Caia Park

Wycombe, Bucks