Skip to main content

Nuclear Power: Consultants

Volume 488: debated on Wednesday 25 February 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change pursuant to the Answer of 21 January 2009, Official Report, columns 1431-2W, on nuclear power: consultants, what role (a) Mr David Hughes, (b) Professor John Raine, (c) Mr Bernard Whittle and (d) Mr Phillip Woodward have in the generic design assessment. (255963)

I have been asked to reply.

Professor David Hughes, Professor John Raine, Mr. Bernard Whittle and Mr. Phillip Woodward are members of the independent Process Review Board set up by the Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations. The purpose of this board is to provide additional assurance to him that appropriate governance processes have been applied during the Generic Design Assessment (GDA) process for new nuclear power stations. The full terms of reference for the board can be seen at: