Skip to main content

Trade Unions

Volume 489: debated on Tuesday 10 March 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence which trade unions are recognised in his Department. (262076)

The MOD currently recognises the following trade unions and staff associations which represent staff in a wide range of grades, trades and professions.

Non-Industrial Trade Unions:



PCS (Public and Commercial Services Union)

Industrial Trade Unions:

Unite (Amicus Section)

Unite (Transport and General Workers Union (TGWU) Section)

GMB (General and Municipal Boilermakers)

UCATT (Union of Construction, Allied Trades and Technicians)

Staff Associations:

CPOA (Chief Police Officers Association)

DPF (Defence Police Federation)

ROA (Retired Officers Association)

Maritime Trade Unions:

Nautilus UK

RMT (National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers)

Medical Grades and Civilian Practitioners:

BMA (British Medical Association)

Teaching Grades:

ATL (The Association of Teachers and Lecturers)

NAHT (National Association of Head Teachers)

NASUWT (The National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers)

NUT (National Union of Teachers)

ASCL (Association of School and College Leaders

Locally Engaged Civilians Overseas:


Ver.di (Vereinigte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft)


Unite (TGWU Section)

Unite (TGWU Section)—ACTSS (Association of Clerical Technical and Supervisory Staff)

Prospect—GGCA (Gibraltar General and Clerical Association)

Gibraltar Services Police Staff Association


SEK (Federation of Government, Military and Civil Service Workers)

PEO (Pan Cyprian Federation of Labour—Government/Military and Social Institute Servants)

PASYDY (Pancyprian Public Servants’ Trade Union)

TURK-SEN (Turkish Cypriot Trade Union Federation)

SBA (Sovereign Bases Abroad) Police Association.