Skip to main content

Sexual Assault Referral Centres

Volume 491: debated on Wednesday 22 April 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department how many sexual assault referral centres were operating in each police force area in each of the last five years; how many were in (a) rural and (b) urban areas; and how many employed a forensic nurse. (260928)

SARCPolice force areaOpen sinceForensic nurse (Y/N)Rural1 (Y/N)1St. Mary's Centre ManchesterGreater Manchester1986YN2REACH—Rhona Cross Centre NewcastleNorthumbria1991NN3REACH—Ellis Fraser Centre SunderlandNorthumbria1991NN4Willow House Merthyr TydfilSouth Wales1993NN5Juniper Lodge LeicesterLeicestershire1999NN6Haven Camberwell LondonMPS2000NN7Haven Paddington LondonMPS2002NN8Lancashire SAFE Centre PrestonLancashire2002YN9Millfield House DerbyshireDerbyshire2004NN10Haven Whitechapel LondonMPS2004NN11The Meadows DurhamDurham2005NY12The Rowan Centre WalsallWest Midlands2005NN13The New Swindon Sanctuary SwindonWiltshire2006NY14The Treetops Centre PortsmouthHampshire2006NN 15Elm Tree House Dyfed PowysDyfed Powys2007NY16The Topaz Centre NottinghamshireNottinghamshire2007NN17Renton Clinic KentKent2007NN18Helen Britton House MiddlesbroughCleveland2007NN19Laburnum House GwentGwent2008NN20Hope House GloucesterGloucestershire2008NY21CASA Suite HullHumberside2008YN22SAFE Place—Merseyside LiverpoolMerseyside2008NN23Twelves Company DevonDevon and Cornwall2008NY24Artemis Centre RotherhamSouth Yorkshire2008NN25The Saturn Centre CrawleySussex2008NN26Beech Tree Centre SwanseaSouth Wales2008NN27Safe Island CardiffSouth Wales2008NN28The Bridge BristolAvon and Somerset2008NN 1 The defining of rural police force areas within England and Wales has been taken in accordance with the ACORN (‘A Classification of Residential Neighbourhoods’) guidance as published in the Statistical Bulletin 01/02 ‘Rural Crime England and Wales’. The data covers 13 forces which ACORN defines as either ‘most rural’ (Dyfed-Powys, Lincolnshire, North Yorkshire and North Wales) or ‘Less Rural’ (Cambridgeshire, Cumbria, Devon and Cornwall, Durham, Gloucestershire, Norfolk, Suffolk, West Mercia and Wiltshire).