Skip to main content

Planning Permission

Volume 492: debated on Tuesday 12 May 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government in what areas simplified planning zones have operated; and over what period in each case. (273221)

The Town and Country Planning Act 1990 (sections 82-87), amended by the Planning and Compensation Act 1991 (section 28), provides for the creation of simplified planning zones (SPZs). Since the powers were taken, we are aware of six SPZs that have been created, two of which remain in existence today. These are listed in the following tables:

SPZs in operation




Slough Trading Estate

Slough Borough Council

From January 1995 to January 2005. On 12 November 2004 Slough Borough Council agreed to a new up-dated version of the SPZ to run for a further 10 years to 2014.

Kings Norton

Birmingham City Council

From November 1998 to 2017.

Other SPZs that have operated in the past




Sir Francis Ley Industrial Park

Derby City Council

From August 1988 to August 1998.


Corby Borough Council

From September 1988 to September 1998.

Victoria Park

Gedling Borough Council

From November 1991 to November 2001.

Knowsley Industrial Park

Knowsley Metropolitan Borough

Information unavailable.

A new SPZ is proposed in Rochdale.