Skip to main content

Pig Industry Task Force

Volume 492: debated on Thursday 14 May 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs when he expects to announce the appointment of members of the Pig Industry Task Force; and what its objectives will be. (273769)

Members of the Pig Meat Supply Chain Task Force were appointed prior to its first meeting on 18 March and announced in a DEFRA news release on 19 March. The membership is as follows:

Stewart Houston: NPA/BPEX

Barney Kay: NPA

Mick Sloyan: BPEX

Richard Lister: Industry

John Hughes: Tulip

Bill Thurston: Vion

Adrian Dowling: Bowes of Norfolk

Bernard Hoggarth: Cranswick

Simon Galkoff: Whitbreads

Nick Scrase: ASDA

Simon Twigger: Sainsburys

Colin Holmes: Tesco

Andrew Thornber: Morrisons

Jan Anderson: Yorkshire Forward

Tricia Henton: Environment Agency

Susan Knox: Consumer bodies

Ian Platt: Baxter Storey

The consumer and the supply chain will benefit from the work of the taskforce on issues such as clearer labelling, better pig herd health, greater public sector procurement of higher welfare products and environmental requirements. The principle aim is that the taskforce will significantly contribute to the long-term resilience and profitability of the supply chain.

Further information on the Pig Meat Supply Chain Task Force can be found on the DEFRA website.