Skip to main content

Local Government Delivery Council

Volume 493: debated on Friday 12 June 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government what the (a) remit and (b) membership of the Local Government Delivery Council is. (279925)

The Local Government Delivery Council (LGDC) drives forward local service transformation. It is part of local government’s commitment to delivering services that meet the needs and expectations of citizens and businesses.

The LGDC provides a forum where national activity around transformation can be brought together, monitored and developed. The council was established in 2007 under the auspices of the Local Government Association (LGA). It held its first meeting in September 2007 and now meets quarterly.

Current members of the LGDC are as follows:

Local authority representatives

Janet Callender, Chair of LDC

Steve Baker, Chief Executive, Suffolk Coastal District Council, East of England region

Pat Harding, Corporate Director, Customer Service and Transformation, Cambridge County Council, East of England region

Dave Smith, Chief Executive, Sunderland City Council, North East region

Bill Murphy, Corporate Director of Resources, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham, London region

Glyn Evans, Assistant Director on Transformation to the Chief Executive, Birmingham City Council, West Midlands region

Maura Brooks, Chief Officer for ICT, Leeds City Council, Yorkshire and Humberside region

Donna Hall, Chief Executive, Chorley Borough Council, North West region

David Hill, Chief Executive, Ashford Borough Council, South East region

Peter Sloman Chief Executive, Oxford City Council South East region

Caroline Tapster, Chief Executive, Hertfordshire County Council, East of England region

John Everitt, Chief Executive, Bath and North East Somerset, South West region

Lyn Martin-Bennison, Chief Executive, Borough Council of Wellingborough, East Midland region

Tim Rainey, Assistant Chief Executive Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council, North West Region

Stakeholder representatives

Andrew Campbell Director, Local Strategic Partnerships and Performance, Communities and Local Government

Stephen Jones, Director for Finance, Local Government Association

Sarah Fogden, Deputy Director Service Transformation, Public Service Reform Unit, Cabinet Office

John Hayes, Director Local Government Services, IDeA

John Blundell, Deputy Director, Government Office Network/Regional Coordination Unit

Siobhan Coughlan, Secretariat for LGDC, IDeA

Central Government departmental representatives

Tim O’Connor, Care and Efficiency Delivery Programme, Department of Health

Lyn McDonald, Tell Us Once Programme Director, Department for Work and Pensions

Trevor Huddlestone, Strategy Director, Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)

Other representatives

Maggie Jones, Chief Executive, Children England