Skip to main content

Further Education

Volume 494: debated on Monday 22 June 2009

To ask the Minister of State, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills pursuant to the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State's contribution to the Westminster Hall debate on building colleges for the future, Official Report, column 121WH, of 25 March 2009, to which hon. Members the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State has written with an invitation to discuss the matters in detail. (267893)

On the 16 January, my hon. Friend, the then Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Further Education wrote to 105 Members—listed as follows. The letter was targeted at those Members who had colleges in their constituencies that we were aware were affected by the position of the Further Education capital programme. The letter included an offer to meet with any Members who had concerns regarding further education colleges in their own constituencies.

Prior to 4 March and the Learning and Skills Council national Council meeting, my hon. Friend, the then Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Further Education had been in correspondence with 58 Members regarding the position of the Further Education capital programme. On 6 March, following the national Council meeting, my hon. Friend, the then Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Further Education wrote to each of the Members, updating them on the latest capital funding position, and again offering to meet with Members who had concerns regarding their own colleges.

A list of those 58 Members will be placed in the House Libraries.


16 January distribution list

David Heyes

Eric Illsley

John Mann

Frank Field

Gordon Marsden

Dr. Brian Iddon

Mark Simmonds

Marsha Singh

Ann Keen

David Lepper

Eric Martlew

Martin Harwood

Andrew Tyrie

Christine Russell

Roberta Blackman-Woods

Bob Russell

Richard Ottaway

Alan Milburn

Michael Mates

Stephen O'Brien

Ben Bradshaw

Austin Mitchell

Sylvia Heal

Iain Wright

David Willetts

Andrew Stunell

John Howell

Mark Prisk

Peter Atkinson

Jonathan Djanogly

Andrew Turner

Philip Hollobone

Ben Wallace

Jane Kennedy

Ian McCartney

Alan Meale

Dr. Julian Lewis

Norman Lamb

Henry Bellingham

Sally Keeble

Charles Clarke

Alan Simpson

Dr. Evan Harris

Stewart Jackson

Mike Hancock

Mark Hendrick

Nigel Evans

Susan Kramer

Philip Hammond

Lorely Burt

Stephen Ladyman

Dr. John Pugh

Shaun Woodward

Ms Dari Taylor

Mark Fisher

Lynda Waltho

John Maples

Andrew Mitchell

Jeremy Browne

Mark Pritchard

Sir John Stanley

Adrian Sanders

Dr. Vincent Cable

David Clelland

Mary Creagh

Denis Murphy

John Spellar

David Heathcoat-Amory

Rosie Cooper

Tim Farron

Dr. Richard Taylor

Ian Cawsey

Nadine Dorries

Ian Gibson

Bob Spink

Ian Stewart

Graham Stringer

Desmond Turner

Rob Wilson

Derek Wyatt

Meg Munn

Dr. Hywel Francis

Judy Mallaber

Damian Green

Tim Loughton

Doug Henderson

Paul Holmes

Michael Foster

Khalid Mahmood

Angela C. Smith

Janet Dean

Joan Walley

Tim Boswell

Alistair Burt

Laurence Robertson

John Penrose

Annette Brooke

Dawn Butler

Douglas Carwell

John Heppell

Sharon Hodgson

Paul Holmes

Andy Slaughter

Edward Timpson

Graham Allen

Total: 105

6 March distribution list:

Tony Lloyd MP

Stephen Hepburn MP

Stephen Haughton MP

Shona McIsaac MP

Sahid Malik MP

Rt. Hon. Jack Straw MP

Rt. Hon. George Howarth MP

Rt. Hon. Alan Johnson MP

Robert Key MP

Phil Hope MP

Paul Rowan MP

Mike Hall MP

Michael Foster MP

Michael Clapham MP

Mary Creagh MP

Mark Hoban MP

Jonathan Djanogly MP

John Mann MP

John Hayes MP

Jim Dobbin MP

Jeff Ennis MP

Janet Anderson MP

Ian Cawsey MP

Ian Austin MP

Gordon Marsden MP

Frank Dobson MP

Eric Illsley MP

Dr. Richard Taylor MP

Dr. Howard Stoate MP

Don Foster MP

Derek Twigg MP

Denis MacShane MP

Dawn Butler MP

David Wright MP

David Kidney MP

Dave Watts MP

Christine Russell MP

Celia Barlow MP

Ben Chapman MP

Ben Bradshaw MP

Barry Sheerman MP

Austin Mitchell MP

Anne Snelgrove MP

Alison Seabeck MP

Adrian Sanders MP

Rt. Hon. John Hutton MP

Nick Harvey MP

Mark Field MP

Malcolm Moss MP

Eric Martlew MP

Eleanor Laing MP

David Borrow MP

Dari Taylor MP

Austin Mitchell MP

Dr. Tony Wright MP

Rt. Hon. Andrew Smith MP

Joan Humble MP

Alan Keen MP

Total: 58