Skip to main content

Swine Flu: Schools

Volume 496: debated on Wednesday 15 July 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Health how many (a) schools and (b) special schools have been closed as a result of an outbreak of swine influenza. (286316)

Information provided to the Department for Children, Schools and Families (DCSF), initially by the Health Protection Agency and subsequently by Government offices, shows that a total of 100 schools, including six special schools, had closed by 9 July 2009. Of those schools, 93 had reopened by 9 July, leaving seven schools closed, including five special schools.

There is no statutory duty on schools to report their closure to DCSF, so this data is not necessarily complete.