Skip to main content

Ministerial Policy Advisers

Volume 496: debated on Monday 20 July 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs pursuant to the answer of 6 July 2009, Official Report, column 548W, on Ministerial policy: advisers, what the names of the three members of his Department based in 10 Downing Street are; what their job descriptions are; for how long each has been posted there; and what advice they provide to his Department while on secondment. (286242)

Of the three advisers referred to in the previous answer, Simon McDonald has been officially based at the Cabinet Office, rather than at No. 10, as Foreign Policy Adviser to my right hon. Friend the Prime Minister, since 2007. Two other members of Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) staff are based at No. 10 as foreign policy advisers. Tom Fletcher since September 2007 and Nick Catsaras since July 2008.

FCO officials at No. 10 advising the Prime Minster on foreign policy issues work very closely with officials from the Department for International Development, the Ministry of Defence and the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.