Skip to main content


Volume 496: debated on Wednesday 9 September 2009

To ask the Minister for the Cabinet Office what the names are of the members of the selection panel for the Capacitybuilders Campaigning Research Programme fund. (290701)

The members of the selection panel are: Angela Sarkis (chair on panel, member of Capacitybuilders Board), Titus Alexander (Novas Scarman), Rachael Stokes (NCVO) and Jessica Ellis (Capacitybuilders)

The panel have short listed 49 organisations at this stage in the process.

As this is an action research programme, short listing decisions were based largely on ensuring that the projects proceeding to the next stage of selection include a spread of; geographic location, the marginalised group which is the focus of the campaign, and the age, size and turnover of the nominated organisation. Not being short listed should in no way be seen as a judgment on the campaign’s significance or potential.

The final programme will support up to 30 organisations through a package of grant funding, mentoring, peer support and training. The panel will meet again in October 2009 to make the final selection, which will again be based upon maintaining a diverse range of projects. Initial research findings will be available in spring 2010.