Skip to main content

Sustainable Development

Volume 497: debated on Tuesday 13 October 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government which principal authorities intend to participate in the provisions of the Sustainable Communities Act 2007. (292427)

Following the Secretary of State's invitation, which was issued in October 2008, 100 local authorities have submitted proposals under section 2 of the Sustainable Communities Act 2007. This includes 90 lead authorities and a further 10 authorities included in joint proposals.

The 100 local authorities are:

Adur District Council

Ashford Borough Council

Bath and North East Somerset Council

Bexley London Borough Council

Birmingham City Council

Borough of Poole

Brighton and Hove City Council

Bristol City Council

Burnley Borough Council

Bury Metropolitan Borough Council

Cambridge City Council

Central Bedfordshire Council

Cheshire West and Chester

Chorley Borough Council

Christchurch Borough Council

City of York Council

Craven District Council

Croydon London Borough Council

Darlington Borough Council

Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council

Dorset County Council

East Devon District Council

East Lindsey District Council

East Riding of Yorkshire Council

Essex County Council

Exeter City Council

Hackney London Borough Council

Hambleton District Council

Hammersmith and Fulham London Borough Council

Hampshire County Council

Harrogate Borough Council

Harrow London Borough Council

Hastings Borough Council

Herefordshire Council

High Peak Borough Council

Islington London Borough Council

Kent County Council

Kettering Borough Council

Kingston upon Thames Royal Borough Council

Lambeth London Borough Council

Leeds City Council

Lewes District Council

Lewisham London Borough Council

Liverpool City Council

Maldon District Council

Mid Devon District Council

Mid Sussex District Council

Newcastle under Lyme Borough Council

Newcastle upon Tyne City Council

Norfolk County Council

North Dorset District Council

North Somerset Council

North Yorkshire County Council

Norwich City Council

Nottingham City Council

Oxford City Council

Oxfordshire County Council

Pendle Borough Council

Purbeck District Council

Redbridge London Borough Council

Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council

Richmondshire District Council

Rother District Council

Ryedale District Council

Scarborough Borough Council

Selby District Council

Sheffield City Council

South Gloucestershire Council

South Hams District Council

South Kesteven District Council

South Lakeland District Council

South Oxfordshire District Council

South Somerset District Council

South Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council

Southampton City Council

Southend-on-Sea Borough Council

Southwark Council

St. Albans City and District Council

Staffordshire Moorlands District Council

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Stroud District Council

Suffolk Coastal District Council

Sutton London Borough Council

Teignbridge District Council

Torridge District Council

Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council

Waltham Forest London Borough Council

Warrington Borough Council

Warwick District Council

West Devon Borough Council

West Dorset District Council

West Lancashire District Council

West Oxfordshire District Council

Westminster City Council

Weymouth and Portland Borough Council

Wiltshire Council

Windsor and Maidenhead Royal Borough

Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council

Worthing Borough Council

Wycombe District Council