Skip to main content

Equality Commission for Northern Ireland

Volume 497: debated on Tuesday 13 October 2009

I am pleased to announce the appointment of four new Commissioners to the Equality Commission for Northern Ireland. Anna Carragher, Lyn McBriar, Dermot Nesbitt and Peter Sheridan took up office on 21 September 2009

Equality for all is at the heart of the Government’s vision of a modern, fairer society. The Equality Commission is a key institution of the Belfast Agreement and plays a vital role in protecting and promoting equality for all members of our diverse society in Northern Ireland. The Commission is now marking its 10th anniversary and it is facing new challenges, not least working with an increasingly diverse, multicultural society in a testing economic environment.

I am confident that the four new Commissioners bring a wealth of knowledge, skills and understanding, helping the Commission to meet the challenges ahead and build on their considerable achievements over the past 10 years.