Skip to main content

Joint Rapid Reaction Force

Volume 502: debated on Wednesday 16 December 2009

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence which brigade forms the Joint Rapid Reaction Force (JRRF); whether it is presently fully equipped; whether the present JRRF is deployed; and when the future JRRF will take over from the present JRRF. (304362)

The Army commitment to the Joint Rapid Reaction Force (JRRF) was originally centred on the Spearhead Land Element (SLE), the lead Airborne Task Force (ABTF) and the High Readiness Mechanised or Armoured Brigade. In February 2008, due to the deployment of 16 Air Assault Brigade to Afghanistan, the ABTF was replaced by the Small Scale Focused Intervention Battlegroup (SSFI BG). Due to our commitment to prioritise operations in Afghanistan, the ABTF has not yet been re-established. Instead the land elements of the JRRF that are currently held at high readiness are the Spearhead Land Element (SLE) and Small Scale Contingent Battle Group (SSC BG). The SLE is based on 1st Battalion the Royal Irish Regiment. The SSC BG is provided by 42 Commando, Royal Marines.

Both the SLE and the SSC BG are equipped according to their readiness states and neither is currently deployed.