Skip to main content

Departmental Scientists

Volume 503: debated on Wednesday 6 January 2010

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change how many (a) scientific advisers and (b) civil servants in scientific posts there are in his Department. (301926)

The Department has a Chief Scientific Adviser, Professor David Mackay. In addition, there are three independent committees that advise the Department on scientific and other matters. These are: the Committee on Radioactive Waste Management (15 members); the Advisory Committee on Carbon Abatement Technologies (15 members); the Committee on Climate Change (eight members). The Department also receives advice from a number of other bodies. These include: Energy Technology Institute; Carbon Trust; and UK Energy Research Centre.

Currently there are 66 science and engineering posts in the Department.