Skip to main content

British Overseas Territories

Volume 506: debated on Friday 26 February 2010

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what the name is of the (a) Governor and (b) Assistant Governor of each overseas territory. (319171)

The names of the Governors and Deputy Governor, or equivalents, in each of the UK's Overseas Territories are as follows:


Governor—Mr. Alistair Harrison

Deputy Governor—Mr. Stanley Reid


Governor—Sir Richard Gozney

Deputy Governor—Mr. David Arkley

British Virgin Islands

Governor—Mr. David Pearey

Deputy Governor—Ms Vivian Inez Archibald

Cayman Islands

Governor—Mr. Duncan Taylor

Deputy Governor—Mr. Donovan Ebanks

Falkland Islands

Governor—Mr. Alan Huckle. Mr Huckle is also Commissioner for South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.

Deputy Governor—There is no such position. Mr. Paul Martinez is the First Secretary in the Governor's Office and has acted as Governor during periods of substantive absence by the Governor.


Governor—Sir Adrian Johns

Deputy Governor—Ms Lesley Pallett


Governor—Mr. Peter Waterworth

Deputy Governor—Mrs. Sarita Francis


Governor—Mr. George Fergusson

Deputy Governor—Ms Ginny Silva

St. Helena, Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha

Governor—Mr Andrew Gurr

Deputy Governor—There is no such position. The Chief Secretary, Mr. Andrew Wells, has acted as Governor of St. Helena in the Governor's absence.

Ascension Island Administrator—Mr. Ross Denny.

Tristan da Cunha Administrator—Mr. David Morley.

Turks and Caicos Islands

Governor—Mr. Gordon Wetherell

Deputy Governor—Vacant

British Antarctic Territory and British Indian Ocean Territory

The Commissioner for the British Antarctic Territory and British Indian Ocean Territory is Mr. Colin Roberts.