Skip to main content


Volume 507: debated on Wednesday 17 March 2010

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department pursuant to the answer of 1 March 2010, Official Report, columns 880-1W, which countries were categorised as (a) other Europe, (b) other former USSR, (c) other Americas, (d) other Africa, (e) other Middle East and (f) other Asia and Oceania in the data provided. (321318)

The countries of nationality that are categorised within other Europe, other former USSR, other Americas, other Africa, other Middle East and other Asia and Oceania are listed as follows. The list includes nationalities for which there were no grants or refusals of asylum in the years 2007, 2008 and 2009.

(a) Other Europe

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus (Northern part of), Denmark, Faroe Islands, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Spain, Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands, Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican City State (Holy See), Yugoslavia.

(b) Other former USSR

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

(c) Other Americas

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda (GBR), Bolivia, Bouvet Island, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, French Guyana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Martinique, Mexico, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Pierre and Miquelon, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia, Surinam, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands (GBR), United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela, Virgin Islands (US).

(d) Other Africa

Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Burkina Faso, Reunion, Sao Tome Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, South Africa, St. Helena (GBR), Swaziland, Togo, Tunisia, Western Sahara, Zambia.

(e) Other Middle East

Bahrain, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

(f) Other Asia and Oceania

American Samoa, Antarctica, Australia, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia (Kampuchea),Christmas Islands, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cook Island, Korea (North), East Timor, Fiji, Heard & McDonald Islands, Hong Kong SAR of China (Holder of Certificate of Identity or Document of Identity), Hong Kong SAR of China (Holder of Special Administrative Region Passport), Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mayotte, Micronesia, Mongolia, Burma (Myanmar), Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Korea (South), Thailand, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis Futuna Islands.

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department pursuant to the answer of 22 February 2010, Official Report, columns 329-30W, on asylum, what arrangements are available to asylum claimants, notwithstanding the rules of October 2009, to allow hon. Members to present further evidence supporting the claimant's case where the claimant cannot attend in person for medical reasons. (321447)

Anyone who had made their asylum claim before 5 March 2007 and is being dealt with by the Case Resolution Directorate, who feels that they are physically unable to travel to Liverpool to make their further submissions in person, due to a disability or severe illness, may submit their further submissions either directly, or from their MP or representative via fax to the Further Submissions Team in Liverpool. This must be accompanied by documentary evidence to show how they meet the exceptional criteria. Those who fail to meet the exceptional criteria will be advised to book an appointment to submit their further submissions in person. Those who made their claims after 5 March 2007, whose case is being dealt with by one of the regional asylum teams, should contact either their case-owner or the relevant regional contact number.