Skip to main content

Speaker’s Statement

Volume 511: debated on Thursday 10 June 2010

Nominations for Chairs of the 24 Select Committees set out in Standing Order No. 122B, as amended by the Order of the House of Monday 7 June, closed on Tuesday 8 June, and elections were held by secret ballot on Wednesday 9 June. No ballot was necessary for eight Committees for which a single nomination had been received as follows:



Culture, Media & Sport

Mr John Whittingdale

International Development

Malcolm Bruce


Sir Alan Beith

Northern Ireland Affairs

Mr Laurence Robertson


Mr Greg Knight

Scottish Affairs

Mr Ian Davidson


Mrs Louise Ellman

Welsh Affairs

David T. C. Davies

In the contested elections, the following candidates were elected:



Business, Innovation & Skills

Mr Adrian Bailey

Children, Schools & Families

Mr Graham Stuart

Communities & Local Government

Mr Clive Betts


Mr James Arbuthnot

Energy & Climate Change

Mr Tim Yeo

Environment, Food & Rural Affairs

Miss Anne McIntosh

Environmental Audit

Joan Walley

Foreign Affairs

Richard Ottaway


Mr Stephen Dorrell

Home Affairs

Keith Vaz

Political and Constitutional Reform

Mr Graham Allen

Public Accounts

Margaret Hodge

Public Administration

Mr Bernard Jenkin

Science & Technology

Andrew Miller


Mr Andrew Tyrie

Work & Pensions

Miss Anne Begg

The full breakdown of voting in each contest, indicating the votes attributable to each candidate after each redistribution of the votes of eliminated candidates, is set out in a paper available from the Vote Office. The Members so elected take up their positions formally when their Committee has been nominated by the House. I congratulate all the right hon. and hon. Members concerned.