Skip to main content

Council for Science and Technology

Volume 540: debated on Tuesday 7 February 2012

I would like to inform the House that today the Prime Minister has appointed Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell as the independent co-chair to the Council for Science and Technology (CST).

Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell is President and Vice Chancellor of the University of Manchester and was appointed to the CST as a member in June 2011.

The CST Is the UK Government’s top level advisory body on science and technology policy issues. It reports to the Prime Minister.

The appointment process was made in accordance with the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ code of practice for ministerial appointments to public bodies.

Full details of CST’s terms of reference and organisation can be found at