Skip to main content

Bill of Rights Commission (Membership)

Volume 542: debated on Tuesday 13 March 2012

The Government made a written ministerial statement on 18 March 2011, Official Report, column 31WS, announcing the establishment of an independent Commission to investigate the creation of a UK Bill of Rights. The membership of the Commission has now changed.

The Commission is chaired by Sir Leigh Lewis KCB, a former permanent secretary at the Department for Work and Pensions with a long career in public service. Sir Leigh Lewis is joined on the Commission by: Jonathan Fisher QC, Martin Howe QC, Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws QC, Lord Lester of Herne Hill QC, Philippe Sands QC, Anthony Speaight QC, Professor Sir David Edward QC and the recently appointed Lord Faulks QC.

The terms of reference for the Commission remain unchanged. The Commission is investigating the creation of a UK Bill of Rights that incorporates and builds on all our obligations under the European Convention on Human Rights, ensures that these rights continue to be enshrined in UK law, and protects and extends our liberties. It is examining the operation and implementation of these obligations, and considering ways to promote a better understanding of the true scope of these obligations and liberties. The Commission reports jointly to the Deputy Prime Minister and the Secretary of State for Justice. The Commission is supported in its work by a small secretariat of civil servants.