Skip to main content

High Speed Rail (London – West Midlands) Bill: Instruction (No. 5)

Volume 603: debated on Tuesday 1 December 2015


That it be a further Instruction to the Select Committee to which the High Speed Rail (London - West Midlands) Bill is committed–

(1 ) that the Select Committee have power to consider–

(a) amendments, to accommodate the requirements of landowners and occupiers and changes to

the design of the works authorised by the Bill, relating to:

i. the London Borough of Hillingdon;

ii. the parishes of Denham, Grendon Underwood, Hogshaw and Stone with Bishopstone and Hartwell in the County of Buckinghamshire;

iii. the parish of Greatworth in the County of Northamptonshire;

iv. the parish of Middleton in the County of Warwickshire;

v. the parishes of Drayton Bassett, Hints with Canwell, Longdon and Weeford in the County of Staffordshire;

vi. the parish of Bickenhill in the Metropolitan Borough of Solihull;

(b) amendments for purposes connected with any of the matters mentioned in sub-paragraph (a);

(2) that any petition against amendments to the Bill which the Select Committee is empowered to make shall be referred to the Select Committee if–

(a) the petition is presented by being deposited in the Private Bill Office not later than the end of the period of four weeks beginning with the day on which the first newspaper notice of the amendments was published, and

(b) the petition is one in which the petitioners pray to be heard by themselves or through counsel or agents.

That these Orders be Standing Orders of the House.— (Mr Goodwill.)

sIttings of the House (2 December)


That, at the sitting on Wednesday 2 December, notwithstanding the provisions of paragraphs 1 and 2 of Standing Order No. 21 (Time for taking Questions) and Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to being in bills and nominations of Select Committees at commencement of public business), no Questions or Motions for leave to bring in bills shall be taken; and after Prayers, the House shall proceed immediately to the Motion in the name of the Prime Minister relating to United Nations Security Council Resolution 2249.—(Chris Grayling.)