Skip to main content

Speaker’s Statement: Select Committee Chairs

Volume 627: debated on Wednesday 12 July 2017

We come now to the announcement of the results for the election of Chairs of Select Committees. Nominations for the 27 elected Select Committee Chairs and the Chair of the Backbench Business Committee closed on Friday 7 July, and elections were held by secret ballot today. No ballot was necessary for 17 Committees for which a single nomination had been received, as follows:



Culture, Media and Sport

Damian Collins

Environmental Audit

Mary Creagh

Exiting the European Union

Hilary Benn


Dr Sarah Wollaston

Home Affairs

Yvette Cooper

International Development

Stephen Twigg

International Trade

Angus Brendan MacNeil


Robert Neill


Helen Jones


Mr Charles Walker

Public Accounts

Meg Hillier

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs

Mr Bernard Jenkin

Scottish Affairs

Pete Wishart


Sir Kevin Barron

Welsh Affairs

David T.C. Davies

Women and Equalities

Mrs Maria Miller

Work and Pensions

Frank Field

I say what I am about to say principally for the benefit of people attending to our proceedings outwith the Chamber. What I have just said means that those named individuals have been elected or—I think in every case—re-elected as Chairs of those Select Committees. In the contested elections, a total of 587 ballot papers were submitted, the ballots being counted under the alternative vote system. The following candidates were elected:



Backbench Business

Ian Mearns

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Rachel Reeves

Communities and Local Government

Clive Betts


Dr Julian Lewis


Robert Halfon

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Neil Parish

Foreign Affairs

Tom Tugendhat

Northern Ireland Affairs

Dr Andrew Murrison

Science and Technology

Norman Lamb


Lilian Greenwood


Nicky Morgan

The full breakdown of voting in each contest, indicating the votes attributable to each candidate after each redistribution of the votes of eliminated candidates is set out in a paper, shortly available on the Parliament website, and from the Vote Office. The Members so elected take up their positions formally when their Committee has been nominated by the House. I congratulate all right hon. and hon. Members concerned. May I, with the concurrence of the House, thank all those candidates who took part in the elections? If I may say so, this is the somewhat more democratic House of Commons in 2017 by comparison with an earlier era.