Skip to main content

Restoration and Renewal: Shadow Sponsor Board

Volume 645: debated on Tuesday 17 July 2018

Both Houses have decided that the next phase of the restoration and renewal programme should be overseen by a sponsor board and delivery authority. While it is anticipated that these bodies will be placed on a substantive footing by primary legislation in due course, the Commissions of both Houses have agreed to establish the sponsor board in shadow form, with the following members:

Elizabeth Peace CBE (Chair)

Lord Carter of Coles

Lord Deighton KBE

Right hon. the Lord Geidt GCB GCVO OBE

Neil Gray MP

Brigid Janssen

Right hon. Sir Patrick McLoughlin MP

Marta Phillips OBE

Baroness Scott of Needham Market


Simon Thurley CBE

Simon Wright OBE

The shadow sponsor board will act as the single client accountable to Parliament and own the budget, business case and scope of the programme.

The recruitment of the Chair and the other external members was overseen by an independent recruitment panel, chaired by the right hon. Dame Janet Paraskeva DBE, a former First Civil Service Commissioner. Other recruitment panel members possessed major projects and heritage experience. The panel’s role was to make a recommendation to the Commissions regarding the most appropriate candidates for the roles following a full and open competition. The panel unanimously recommended the appointment of the Chair and the other external members. The appointment of the external members is subject to satisfactory references and security clearance.

The parliamentarians on the board were nominated by the political parties and groups in both Houses.