Skip to main content

Business without Debate

Volume 664: debated on Tuesday 3 September 2019

Election of Select Committee Chairs (Notice of Election)

Motion made, and Question put forthwith (Standing Order No. 9(6)),

That, notwithstanding the provisions of Standing Order No. 122C(1), the Speaker may announce a date for an election of chairs of select committees before 12 September 2019 in respect of which the requirement of notice is not met.—(Jeremy Quin.)

Question agreed to.

I must inform the House that Nicky Morgan has given me notice of her resignation as Chair of the Treasury Committee. I declare the Chair vacant. Nominations should be submitted by 12 noon on Tuesday 10 September. Only members of the Conservative party may be candidates in this Select Committee Chair election. The ballot will take place on Wednesday 11 September from 10 am to 1.30 pm.