Cookies: We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
House of Commons Hansard
Speaker’s Statement: Select Committee Chairs
27 January 2020
Volume 670

The edit just sent has not been saved. The following error was returned:
This content has already been edited and is awaiting review.

The House will be aware that the deadline for nominations of Select Committee Chairs was 4 pm today. The following Committees received a single nomination, and therefore the following candidates will be elected unopposed:



Backbench Business

Ian Mearns

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Rachel Reeves


Robert Halfon

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Neil Parish

Exiting the European Union

Hilary Benn

Home Affairs

Yvette Cooper

Housing, Communities and Local Government

Mr Clive Betts

Public Accounts

Meg Hillier

Scottish Affairs

Pete Wishart


Kate Green


Mel Stride

Welsh Affairs

Stephen Crabb

Women and Equalities

Caroline Nokes

I congratulate all Members who have thus been elected. The ballot for the remaining posts will take place on Wednesday 29 January between 10 am and 4 pm in Committee Room 16, and a final list of candidates and their supporters will be available shortly in the Vote Office.