Skip to main content

Practice And Procedure

Volume 387: debated on Monday 14 November 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

My Lords, I beg to move the first Motion standing in my name on the Order Paper.

Moved, That, as proposed in the First Report from the Committee of Selection, the Lords following be named of the Select Committee to consider the Practice and Procedure of the House and to make recommendations for the more effective performance of its functions:

  • Amulree, L.
  • Atholl, D.
  • Burton of Coventry, B.
  • Champion, L.
  • Crowther-Hunt, L.
  • Denham, L.
  • Fulton, L.
  • Hawke, L.
  • Home of the Hirsel, L.
  • Hood, V.
  • Northfield, L.
  • O'Hagan, L.
  • Shackleton, L.
  • Shepherd, L. (Chairman)
  • Windlesham, L.

That the Committee have leave to adjourn from place to place and to report from time to time;

That the Minutes of Evidence taken before the Committee from time to time be printed and, if the Committee think fit, be delivered out;

That the Committee have power to appoint Sub-Committees and to refer to such Sub-Committees any of the matters referred to the Committee;

That the Committee have power to co-opt any Lord for the purpose of serving on a Sub-Committee;

That the Committee, or any Sub-Committee appointed by them, have leave to confer and to meet concurrently with any Committee of the Commons on Procedure or any Sub-Committee of that Committee together with any such persons as that Committee or any Sub-Committee of that Committee may select to attend for the purpose of deliberating and examining witnesses, and have leave to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman for any such meeting;

That the Committee have power to appoint Specialist Advisers.

That the Minutes of Evidence taken before the Select Committee on Practice and Procedure in the last Session of Parliament, and any Sub-Committee of that Committee, and the memoranda submitted to that Committee, be referred to the Committee.

That the Committee do meet at Four o'clock to-morrow.—( Lord Aberdare.)

On Question, Motion agreed to.