Skip to main content

World Conference On Women, Beijing: Countries Entering Reservations

Volume 569: debated on Thursday 8 February 1996

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked Her Majesty's Government:Which countries entered reservations to the final report of the International Conference on Women in Beijing; and whether they will list the subject of each reservation.

The Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
(Baroness Chalker of Wallasey)

The following countries made general and interpretative statements or expressed reservations on the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action:Peru, Kuwait, Egypt, Philippines, Holy See, Malaysia, Iran, Libya, Ecuador, Indonesia, Mauritania, Oman, Malta, Argentina, Brunei, Darussalam, France, Yemen, Sudan, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela, Bahrain, Lebanon, Tunisia, Mali, Benin, Guatemala, India, Algeria, Iraq, Vanuatu, Ethiopia, Morocco, Djibouti, Qatar, Nicaragua, Togo, Liberia, Syrian Arab Republic, Pakistan, Nigeria, Comoros. Bolivia, Colombia, Bangladesh, Honduras, Jordan, Ghana, Central African Republic, Cambodia, Maldives, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Brazil, Panama, El Salvador, Madagascar, Chad, Cameroon, Niger, Gabon, United States of America and Canada. The observer for Palestine also made a statement.Details of the statements and reservations appear in Chapter V (pages 157–176) of the UN Report of the Fourth World Conference on Women (A/CONF.177/20 dated 17 October 1995), copies of which have been deposited in the Library of the House.