Skip to main content

Expert Group On Vitamins And Minerals

Volume 589: debated on Monday 11 May 1998

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked Her Majesty's Government:What is the membership of the Expert Group on Vitamins and Minerals announced on 18 December 1997. [HL1816]

Ministers from the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, the Department of Health and the territorial departments have approved the appointment of the following members to the Expert Group:


  • Prof. H. F. Woods BSc BM BCh Dphil FRCP(Lon) FFPM FRCP(Edin) Hon FFOM
  • Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Sheffield


  • Prof. P. Aggett MB ChB FRCP Msc DCH
  • Head of the Postgraduate School of Medicine and Health, University of Central Lancashire
  • Prof. D. S. Davies BSc PhD BCh FRSC FRCPath HonMRCP
  • Professor of Biochemical Pharmacology Imperial College School of Medicine, Hammersmith Hospital
  • Prof. A. A. Jackson BA MBBCHIR MD FRCP
  • Professor of Human Nutrition at the Institute of Human Nutrition, University of Southampton
  • Dr. B. J. Kirby OBE MB ChB FRCP FRCPed
  • Reader in Medicine and Consultant Physician, Post Graduate Medical School at the University of Exeter
  • Prof. M. J. S. Langman BSc MD FRCP
  • Professor of Medicine, Queen Elizabeth Medical Centre, Birmingham
  • Prof. A. G. Renwick BSc PhD DSc
  • Professor of Biochemical Pharmacology, University of Southampton
  • Ms Barbara Saunders BA(Hons) FCP
  • Freelance Consumer Consultant
  • Dr. A. Thomas PhD FRCP MB ChB
  • Consultant Physician with special responsibility for the elderly, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Dr. A. Williams BSc LRCP MRCS MB BS MRCP (UK) D.Phil(Oxon) FRCP (London) FRCPCH
  • Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Neonatal Paediatrics, St. George's Hospital, London

The observers to the group, selected front those nominated by interested parties, will be:


  • Prof. David Richardson BSc(Hons) MSc PhD FIFST FRSM
  • Head of Nutrition Sciences and Communication, Nestle UK Limited
  • Dr. Derek Shrimpton MA PhD F.I.Biol. C.Biol FIFST
  • Consultant in Nutrition and Food Science
  • Ms Sue Davies BSc(Hons)
  • Senior Policy Researcher for the Consumers' Association
  • Dr. Marilyn Glenville BEd MA PhD
  • Chair of Foresight—the Association for Pre-Conception Care and Chair of the governing council for the British Association of Nutritional Therapists.