Cookies: We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more
House of Lords Hansard
The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.
Jean Monnet Chairs And Centres
29 January 2001
Volume 621
The edit just sent has not been saved. The following error was returned:
This content has already been edited and is awaiting review.

asked Her Majesty's Government:How many Jean Monnet Chairs and Jean Monnet Centres have been created in the universities of the United Kingdom; and where they are located. [HL357]

The edit just sent has not been saved. The following error was returned:
This content has already been edited and is awaiting review.

There are 102 Jean Monnet Chairs in the United Kingdom: 87 Chairs and 15 Chairs Ad Personam. There are 13 Jean Monnet European Centres of Excellence.The

Jean Monnet Chairs are located as follows:

Four Chairs at the Universities of Leicester, Leeds, Queen's—Belfast;

Three Chairs at the Universities of Birmingham, Bath, Essex, Southampton, Strathclyde, Manchester;

Two Chairs at the Universities of Bristol, Edinburgh, Cambridge, Aberdeen, London School of Economics, University of Wales—Cardiff, School of Slavonic and East European Studies—London, Sussex, Hull.

The following Universities have one chair:

Lincolnshire and Humberside, Exeter, South Bank (London), Central Lancashire, Westminster, Aberystwyth, Kent, Queen Mary and Westfield College (London), Durham, Bradford, Sheffield, De Montfort, Thames Valley (London), York, Coventry, Paisley, Leeds Metropolitan, Lancaster, East Anglia, John Moores (Liverpool), Warwick, Kingston, Oxford, Northumbria, Liverpool, North London, Ulster (Coleraine), Glasgow, Loughborough, Reading, Portsmouth, Nottingham, Greenwich, Dundee, Newcastle upon Tyne, Salford, St Andrews, Glamorgan; Robert Gordon (Aberdeen).

Chairs Ad Personam:

Sussex, Kent, Essex, Ulster (Coleraine), Edinburgh, Royal Holloway (London), Glasgow, Lincolnshire and Humberside, Loughborough, Manchester Metropolitan, Manchester (2), Newcastle upon Tyne, Oxford, Plymouth.

Jean Monnet European Centres of Excellence:

Aberystwyth, Bath, Queen's (Belfast), Birmingham, Sussex, Essex, Kent, Glasgow, Hull, Leeds, London School of Economics, Loughborough, Newcastle upon Tyne.

To note:

  • (i) Projects are financed by the European Commission for the first three years; they must be taught for at least seven years;
  • (ii) The Jean Monnet subsidy is given to the university (not to the professor); approval of choice of professor must be granted by the European Commission; should a professor leave the university, the Commission would need to approve the successor;
  • (iii) Where universities have more than one chair, these will be in different disciplines—eg Political Sciences, Economics, European Law; in exceptional cases, there may be two Chairs, with different professors, where projects are of a very high standard;
  • (iv) The majority of Jean Monnett Chairs correspond to the setting up of new teaching activities. A Chair Ad Personam allows Universities to allocate chairs to professors and senior lecturers who already devote 100 per cent of their teaching time to European integration issues, and would not therefore meet the criteria of providing new teaching activities. This relates particularly to professors in post at the time of the launch of the Jean Monnet Project in 1990.