Skip to main content

Motion C

Volume 670: debated on Thursday 10 March 2005

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

rose to move, That this House do not insist on its Amendment No. 33D, but do agree with the Commons in their Amendments Nos. 33C, 33F and 33G in lieu thereof.

The noble Baroness said: My Lords, I beg to move Motion C on Lords Amendment No. 33. This amendment, too, has already been spoken to and I move on the same basis.

Moved, That this House do not insist on its Amendment No. 33D, but do agree with the Commons in their Amendments Nos. 33C, 33F and 33G in lieu thereof.—(Baroness Scotland of Asthal.)

rose to move, as an amendment to Motion C, leave out from "House" to end and insert "do insist on its Amendment No. 33D and do disagree with the Commons in their Amendments Nos. 33C, 33F and 33G in lieu thereof."

The noble Lord said: My Lords, I have already spoken to this amendment. I beg to move.

Moved, as an amendment to Motion C, leave out from "House" to end and insert "do insist on its Amendment No. 33D and do disagree with the Commons in their Amendments Nos. 33C, 33F and 33G in lieu thereof."—(Lord Kingsland.)

5.43 a.m.

On Question, Whether the said amendment (C1) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 164; Not-Contents, 96.

Division No. 11


Addington, L.Hodgson of Astley Abbotts, L.
Ahmed, L.Hogg, B.
Alliance, L.Home, E.
Anelay of St Johns, B.Hooper, B.
Arran, E.Howard of Rising, L.
Ashcroft, L.Howe of Aberavon, L.
Astor, V.Howe of Idlicote, B.
Astor of Hever, L.Jenkin of Roding, L.
Avebury, L.Joffe, L.
Baker of Dorking, L.Kalms, L.
Barker, B.Kennedy of The Shaws, B.
Bell, L.Kimball, L.
Blackwell, L.King of Bridgwater, L.
Bledisloe, V.Kingsland, L.
Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury, B.Knight of Collingtree, B.
Bradshaw, L.Laing of Dunphail, L.
Bridgeman, V.Lamont of Lerwick, L.
Brittan of Spennithorne, L.Lang of Monkton, L.
Brooke of Sutton Mandeville, L.Linklater of Butterstone, B.
Brougham and Vaux, L.Liverpool, E.
Buscombe, B.Livsey of Talgarth, L.
Byford, B.Lloyd of Berwick, L.
Carlisle of Bucklow, L.Lucas, L.
Chalker of Wallasey, B.Ludford, B.
Clement-Jones, L.Luke, L.
Cobbold, L.Lyell, L
Cope of Berkeley, L. [Teller]McColl of Dulwich, L.
Crickhowell, L.Maclennan of Rogart, L.
Cumberlege, B.McNally, L.
Denham, L.Maddock, B
Dholakia, L.Maginnins of Drumglass, L.
Dixon-Smith, L.Mancroft, L.
Donaldson of Lymington, L.Marlesford, L.
D'Souza, B.Mayhew of Twysden, L.
Dykes, L.Michie of Gallanach, B.
Eccles of Moulton, B.Miller of Chilthorne Domer, B.
Eden of Winton, L.Miller of Hendon, B.
Elles, B.Montrose, D.
Elton, L.Moore of Lower Marsh, L.
Falkland, V.Mooris of Bolton, B.
Falkner of Margravine, B.Naseby, L.
Ferrers, E.Neill of Bladen, L
Finlay of Llandaff, B.Neuberger, B.
Fookes, B.Newby, L.
Forsyth of Drumlean, L.Newton of Braintree, L.
Fowler, L.Northbrook, L.
Freeman, L.Northover, B.
Freyberg, L.Norton, of Louth, L.
Garden, L.Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay, L.
Gardner of Parkes, B.O'Cathain, B.
Garel-Jones, L.O'Neill of Bengarve, B.
Geddes, L.Onswlow, E.
Glenarthur, L.Park of Monmouth, B.
Glentoran, L.Pearson of Rannoch, L.
Goodhart, L.Peyton of Yeovil, L.
Goschen, V.Phillips of Sudbury, L.
Greaves, L.Razzall, L.
Hamwee, B.Redesdale, L.
Hanham, B.Rennard, L.
Harris of Peckham, L.Richardon of Calow, B.
Harris of Richmond, B.Roberts of Llandudno, L.
Hayhoe, L.Rogan, L.
Henley, L.Roper, L.
Higgins, L.Rotherwick, L.

Russell-Johnston, L.Tanlaw, L.
Ryder of Wensum, L.Taverne, L.
Saatchi, L.Thomas of Gresford, L. [Teller]
Scott of Needham Market, B.Thomas of Swynnerton, L.
Seccombe, B.Thomson of Monifieth, L.
Selborne, E.Tope, L.
Selkirk of Douglas, L.Tordoff, L.
Selsdon, L.Ullswater, V.
Sharp of Guildford, B.Vallance of Tummel, L.
Shaw of Northstead. L.Waddington, L.
Sheldon, L.Wakeham, L.
Shutt of Greetland, L.Waldegrave of North Hill, L.
Smith of Clifton, L.Wallace, of Saltaire, L.
Sterling of Plaistow, L.Walmsley of Richmond, L.
Stern, B.Watson, of Richmond, L.
Stewartby, L.Wedderburn of Charlton, L.
Stoddart of Swindon, L.Wilcox, B.
Strathclyde, L.Williams of Crosby, B


Alli, L.Hunt of Kings Heath, L.
Andrews, B.Jones, L.
Ashton of Upholland, B.Layard, L.
Bach, L.Leitch, L.
Bassam of Brighton, L.Lipsey, L.
Bernstein of Craigweil, L.Lockwood, B.
Billingham, B.McDonagh, B.
Bragg, L.Macdonald of Tradeston, L.
Brett, L.McIntosh of Haringey, L.
Brooke of Alverthorpe, L.McIntosh of Hudnall, B.
Brookman, L.MacKenzie of Culkein, L.
Campbell-Savours, L.McKenzie of Luton, L.
Carter, L.Massey, of Darwen, B.
Carter of Coles, L.Maxton, L.
Clarke of Hampstead, L.Mitchell, L.
Corbett of Castle Vale, L.Morgan of Drefelin, B.
Crawley, B.Morgan of Huyton, B.
Davies of Oldham, L. [Teller]Morris of Aberavon, L.
Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde, B.Plant of Highfield, L.
Desai, L.Ponsonby of Shulbrede, L.
Drayson, L.Radice, L.
Elder, L.Ramsay of Cartvale, B.
Evans of Temple Guiting, L.Rendell of Babergh, B.
Falconer of Thoroton, L. (Lord Chancellor)Richard, L.
Farrington of Ribbleton. B.Rooker, L.
Faulkner of Worcester, L.Rosser, L.
Filkin, L.Rowlands, L.
Gale, B.Royall of Blaisdon, B.
Giddens, L.Sainsbury of Turville, L.
Gilbert, L.Sawyer, L.
Golding, B.Scotland of Asthal, B.
Goldsmith, L.Sewel, L.
Goudie, B.Simon, V.
Gould of Brookwood, L.Stone of Blackheath, L.
Gould of Potternewton, B.Symons of Vernham Dean, B.
Graham of Edmonton, L.Thomas of Macclesfield, L.
Grocott, L. [Teller]Thornton, B.
Harris of Haringey, L.Tomlinson, L.
Hart of Chilton, L.Triesman, L.
Haskel, L.Truscott, L.
Haworth, L.Tunnicliffe, L.
Henig, B.Turnberg, L.
Hollis of Heigharn, B.Wall of New Barnet, B.
Howells of St. Davids, B.Warner, L.
Hoyle, L.Whitaker, B.
Hughes of Woodside, L.Whitty, L.
Hunt of Chesterton, L.Williams of Elvel, L.
Winston, L.
Young of Norwood Green, L.

Resolved in the affirmative, and amendment agreed to accordingly.

Motion, as amended, agreed to.

5.55 a.m.

My Lords, it may help the House if I repeat what 1 said a few hours ago. It takes a minimum of four hours to go through the next round, for the papers to be dealt with and sent to the other end. Those in the other place will then make their decision and the Bill will return to this House. We shall not resume before 10.30 a.m. It will not be sooner than 10.30, but if it is later, messages will be put on the annunciator.

I beg to move that the House do now adjourn during pleasure.

Moved accordingly, and, on Question, Motion agreed to.

[The Sitting was suspended from 5.56 to 11.40 a.m.]