Skip to main content

Public Bodies: Chairmen

Volume 684: debated on Thursday 6 July 2006

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What are the salary and time requirements for the chairmen of public bodies appointed by the Secretary of State for Transport.[HL6591]

The remuneration and time commitment for the chairs of the Department for Transport's non-departmental public bodies are set out in the table below. The information is correct as at 31 March 2006, except for the current chair of the Strategic Rail Authority, who was appointed on1 April 2006.

Public Body

Remuneration per annum

Time commitment

Commission for Integrated Transport


5 days a month

Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Council


2 days a month

Civil Aviation Authority


3.5 days per week

Rail Passenger Council (operates as Passenger Focus)


8 days a month

Railway Heritage Committee


None specified

Northern Lighthouse Board


40 days per annum

Trinity House Lighthouse Service


Full time (chair and chief executive)

British Transport Police Authority


60 days per annum

Senior Traffic Commissioner

Traffic Commissioners



Full time

Full time

Strategic Rail Authority


4 days per month

1The current chair of the Commission for Integrated Transport chooses to receive a reduced level of remuneration for this post.

2 The traffic commissioners are classed as a tribunal NDPB but they are appointed by the Secretary of State separately and in their own right.