Skip to main content

Tax Law Rewrite Bills Committee

Volume 687: debated on Wednesday 29 November 2006

My Lords, I beg to move the Motion standing in my name on the Order Paper.

Moved, That a Select Committee of six Members be appointed to join with the committee appointed by the Commons to consider tax law rewrite Bills, and in particular to consider whether each Bill committed to it preserves the effect of the existing law, subject to any minor changes which may be desirable;

That, as proposed by the Committee of Selection, the following Members be appointed to the committee:

L Blackwell,

B Cohen of Pimlico,

L Goodhart,

L Haskel,

L Millett,

L Newton of Braintree;

That the committee have power to agree with the committee appointed by the Commons in the appointment of a chairman;

That the quorum of the committee shall be two;

That the committee have leave to report from time to time;

That the committee have power to appoint specialist advisers;

That the evidence taken by the committee shall, if the committee so wishes, be printed;

That the procedure of the Joint Committee shall follow the procedure of Select Committees of the House of Commons when such procedure differs from that of Select Committees of this House, and shall include the power of the Chairman to select amendments.—(The Chairman of Committees.)

On Question, Motion agreed to; and a message was sent to the Commons.