Skip to main content

Serious Organised Crime and Police Act 2005: Designation of Land

Volume 687: debated on Monday 11 December 2006

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What area of land has so far been designated or protected under Sections 128 to 138 of the Serious Organised Crime and Police Act 2005.[HL518]

On 1 April 2006, a designation order (SI 2005/3447) made on behalf of the Secretary of State for Defence came into effect designating the following MoD sites as protected sites under Sections 128 and 129 of the Serious Organised Crime and Police Act 2005: Her Majesty's Naval Base Clyde, Royal Naval Armaments Depot Coulport, Northwood Headquarters, RAF Fylingdales, RAF Menwith Hill, RAF Croughton, RAF Lakenheath, RAF Feltwell, RAF Mildenhall, RAF Brize Norton, Sea Mounting Centre Marchwood, RAF Fairford and RAF Welford.

On 13 April 2006, following amendments made to Sections 128 and 129 by Section 12 of the Terrorism Act 2006, all licensed nuclear sites also became protected sites. An order defining a designated area under Section 138 was laid before Parliament on 10 June 2005 (SI 2005/1537). A map is available at