Skip to main content

Local Government: Unitary Authorities

Volume 691: debated on Wednesday 25 April 2007

asked Her Majesty's Government:

How many unitary authorities there are in the United Kingdom; when each was created; and what is the current population of each. [HL3198]

All principal local authorities in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are unitary. The 32 in Scotland and the 22 in Wales were created in 1996 and the 26 in Northern Ireland in 1972. Local government matters therein are matters for the devolved Administrations.

In England, this responsibility falls to the Department for Communities and Local Government. Unitary authorities here were created at different times. There are a total of 115, including the 32 London boroughs and the 36 metropolitan district councils created in 1986; others were created between the years 1995 and 1998. A table with the names and the populations of the relevant local authorities has been placed in the Library of the House.