Skip to main content

Trade: Francophone Countries

Volume 702: debated on Tuesday 24 June 2008

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What they are doing to encourage United Kingdom interests to engage with commercial opportunities in non-Commonwealth Francophone countries. [HL4292]

UK Trade and Investment provides tailored services that assist UK companies to exploit opportunities in overseas markets. It does this through dedicated UKTI resources in diplomatic posts in 99 markets:

Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium/Lux, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Rep, Denmark, Dominican Rep, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Occupied Palestine, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, UAE (Abu Dhabi & Dubai), USA, Venezuela, Vietnam and Yemen.

Additionally, lobbying and political support by heads of mission continues to be available to UK businesses in response to routine trade and investment inquiries in other countries on a case-by-case basis.