Skip to main content

Legal Services Board

Volume 703: debated on Thursday 17 July 2008

My honourable friend the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State (Bridget Prentice) has made the following Written Ministerial Statement.

The Legal Services Act received Royal Assent on 30 October 2007. Two of the key elements of the Act are the provision of a Legal Services Board (LSB) and the establishment of an Office for Legal Complaints (OLC). The LSB will be an overarching regulator and the OLC will deal with all complaints about regulated legal service providers.

I am pleased to announce that following open and fair competition, regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments, the Lord Chancellor has appointed:

Terence Connor; Stephen Green; William Moyes; Barbara Saunders; and Nicole Smith as the lay members; and

Rosemary Martin; Michael Napier; Andrew Whittaker; and David Wolfe as the non-lay members.

The board members will take up post from 1 September 2008.  The appointments will run for three years.