Skip to main content

Regional Development Agencies

Volume 705: debated on Tuesday 25 November 2008

My right honourable friend the Minister of State for Employment Relations and Postal Affairs (Pat McFadden) has made the following Written Ministerial Statement.

I am pleased to announce that I have decided to appoint 23 RDA board members, who between them will serve seven of our Regional Development Agencies. Their names are listed below.


Board member appointees

Advantage West Midlands

Cllr Mike Whitby

East of England Development Agency

Mr Nitin Dahad

Cllr Shona Johnstone

Cllr Madeline Russell

East Midlands Development Agency

Ms Elizabeth Donnelly

Mr James Harker

North West Regional Development Agency

Mrs Anne Selby

Ms Brenda Smith extended for one year

Lord Peter Smith

Dr John Stageman

South East England Development Agency

Ms Zenna Atkins

Cllr Jeremy Birch

Mr Leslie Dawson

Cllr Keith Mitchell

South West of England Regional Development Agency

Mr Ian Ducat

Mr Peter Madden

Professor Steve Smith

Ms Judith Reynolds and Sir Henry Studholme reappointed after applying through open competition

Yorkshire Forward

Mr Bill Adams

Mr Ajaz Ahmend

Mr John Vincent

Mrs Julie Kenny—reappointed after applying through open competition

The RDAs are playing a crucial role in supporting the national and regional economies in this critical and exceptional economic climate. All the appointees will bring a wealth of experience and knowledge to their RDA, adding a vast amount of value.

I have agreed to the appointments starting on 14 December 2008 for a period of three years, expiring in December 2011.

I have placed further details of these appointments, including biographies, in the Libraries of both Houses. I can confirm that the appointments were made in accordance with the Code of Practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.