Skip to main content

Criminal Records Bureau

Volume 706: debated on Thursday 22 January 2009


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government how an enhanced Criminal Records Bureau check differs from an ordinary check. [HL656]

The Criminal Records Bureau (CRB) offers two different types of checks, standard and enhanced. Standard checks are primarily for posts that involve working with children or vulnerable adults. They may also be issued for people entering certain professions, such as members of the legal and accountancy professions. Standard checks contain the following:

convictions, cautions, reprimands and warnings held in England and Wales on the Police National Computer (PNC) most of the relevant convictions in Scotland and Northern Ireland may also be included.

If the position applied for does involve working with children or vulnerable adults, the standard check may, depending on the specific nature of the duties to be undertaken, also contain:

information from the Protection of Children Act list (PoCA);

information from the Protection of Vulnerable Adults list (PoVA); and

information held by the Department for Children, Schools and Families (DCSF) under Section 142 of the Education Act 2002 of those considered unsuitable for, or banned from, working with children.

Enhanced checks are for posts involving a far greater degree of contact with children or vulnerable adults. In general, the type of work will involve regularly caring for, supervising, training or being in sole charge of such people. Examples include a teacher, scout or guide leader. Enhanced checks are also issued for certain statutory purposes such as gaming and lottery licences.

Enhanced checks contain the same information as standard checks but with the addition of any locally held police force information considered relevant to the job role, by chief police officer(s).