Skip to main content

Registered Commons

Volume 707: debated on Thursday 12 February 2009


Asked by

To ask Her Majesty's Government whether the seven authorities listed as Registration Authorities in Schedule 1 to the Commons Registration (England) Regulations 2008 (SI 2008/1961) represent all areas in which registered Commons are to be found; whether they are the only local authorities that have expressed a wish to be registration authorities; and whether new registration authorities will be added to the list as and when they apply or only at fixed intervals. [HL1248]

Commons registration authorities are defined in Section 4(1) of the Commons Act 2006. Part 1 of the 2006 Act came into force on 1 October 2008 in the seven commons registration authorities participating in a pilot scheme, that is the county councils of Cornwall, Devon, Hertfordshire, Kent and Lancashire, the County of Herefordshire district council, and Blackburn with Darwen borough council. These authorities were selected from those which volunteered to take part in the pilot scheme, as representative of those commons registration authorities in England as a whole which have registered land within their areas.

Commons registration authorities were first designated under the Commons Registration Act 1965. There are 148 in England, of which approximately 116 have registered common land within their areas. We will review the pilot scheme in early 2010 before deciding whether to proceed with national implementation as planned, in regional tranches, from October 2010 onwards. On this basis, all commons registration authorities in England would implement Part 1 by October 2012.